Awards & Honors

School of Pharmacy Dean’s List

The School of Pharmacy Dean’s list is a quarterly recognition of students who have met specific criteria demonstrating high academic achievement. During the first three years of the program, these criteria include enrollment in at least 12 credits (at least 6 of which must be graded credits), and a quarterly grade point average (GPA) of 3.50 or above. At the completion of each quarter, students who meet these criteria are named on the Dean’s List, and a letter of congratulations is sent to them. In the final year of the program, because a grade point is not generated, an average score of 3.5 or higher on a student’s APPE performance assessments will replace the grade point as the criteria for excellence in the practice setting. Fourth-year Dean’s List letters are generated in January, and again following graduation.


Scholastic Excellence Award: This award is given annually to the students with the highest professional grade point average at the end of the first and second year of the PharmD program.

Lynn R. Brady High Scholarship Award: This scholarship is awarded annually to a fourth year student demonstrating high academic achievement.


PharmD Recognition Awards are presented to students who demonstrate professional and scholarly achievement across a variety of areas. Award decisions are made by committee, and there is no application process. The awards honor some our most accomplished students for their work and offer a mark of distinction. The list below contains examples of awards given to PharmD students at their graduate recognition ceremony in recent years:

Alumni Professional Excellence Award: Recognizes a student who has demonstrated, through aptitude and accomplishments, outstanding potential for professional contributions in pharmacy.

APhA-ASP Senior Recognition Award: Recognizes a student for outstanding service to their campus APhA-ASP Chapter.

Dean’s Circle Humanitarian Award: Recognizes a student for outstanding service to the School and community and for displaying a dedicated commitment to the welfare of others.

Dean Orr Outstanding Service Award: Recognizes students for exemplary contributions to the School of Pharmacy.

Lilly Achievement Award: Presented to a member of the graduating class having superior scholastic achievement in the professional curriculum, leadership qualities, and an outstanding professional attitude.

Merck Academic Excellence Award: Presented to outstanding students in recognition of their scholastic achievements.

Outstanding Student Achievement Award: Recognizes a student who has demonstrated, through scholarly and academic achievement, outstanding potential for leadership in pharmacy.

School of Pharmacy Exemplary Practice Award: Presented to students who consistently demonstrate excellence in their Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experiences (APPEs).

School of Pharmacy Professional Advocacy Award: Given in recognition of a student who has consistently advocated for students, the School and the profession.

USPHS Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Practice Award: This award is presented to a student who demonstrates commitment to public health and the pharmacy profession.

Viatris Excellence in Pharmacy Award: This award is presented to recognize high academic achievement and professional motivation.

Wolters Kluwer Clinical Drug Information Award of Excellence in Clinical Communication: Presented to a student who has demonstrated high academic achievement and superior verbal and written communication skills.