March 3, 2004

Faculty, Alumni Win Research Award

Several School of Pharmacy faculty and alumni collaborated on a paper that received the 2003 Drug Therapy Research Award from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP). Dave Veenstra, assistant professor of pharmacy, Mitch Higashi, Ph.D. ’01, Ann Wittkowsky, Pharm.D. ’88, and Allan Rettie, professor and chair of medicinal chemistry, collaborate on a paper titled “Association Between CYP2CP Genetic Variants and Anticoagulation-Related Outcomes During Warfarin Therapy,” which was published in the Journal of the American Medical Association in April 2002. The award was presented on Dec. 8, at the ASHP Midyear meeting in New Orleans.

The award recognizes an outstanding contribution to the scientific pharmaceutical literature of research primarily concerning drug efficacy and safety in human subjects. The study built upon original research conducted at the School under the Program Project Grant for Drug Interactions and was funded by the UW National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences Center for Ecogenetics and Environmental Health. Veenstra was also supported in part by a PhRMA Foundation Career Development Award, and Higashi was supported by a pilot grant from the UW Institute for Public Health Genetics.


Click here for an archive of School of Pharmacy news stories.