Skip to content

UWSOP Dean Sean D. Sullivan Elected To NAM

University of Washington School of Pharmacy Dean and Professor Sean D. Sullivan has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM). Considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine, the election recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.

“I’m truly honored to be elected to the NAM, and to join the ranks of so many distinguished colleagues in the fields of health and medicine,” Sullivan said.

One of the few persons from pharmacy ever elected to the NAM, Sullivan is being honored for pioneering evidence-based drug coverage and reimbursement policies, creating value-based guidelines for coverage and reimbursements, and being the first health economist to serve on global clinical guidelines (asthma and COPD) panels, incorporating economic considerations into recommendations.

“This diverse class of new members is a truly exceptional group of scholars and leaders whose expertise in science, medicine, health, and policy will be integral to helping the NAM address today’s most pressing health challenges and inform the future of health and health care for the benefit of everyone around the globe,” said National Academy of Medicine President Victor J. Dzau. “It is my privilege to welcome these esteemed individuals to the National Academy of Medicine.”

New members are elected by current members through a process that recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care, and public health. A diversity of talent among NAM’s membership is assured by its Articles of Organization, which stipulate that at least one-quarter of the membership is selected from fields outside the health professions — for example, from such fields as law, engineering, social sciences, and the humanities.

“Sean is an innovative national and global leader in the economic evaluation of health care technologies and practices and pharmaceutical and medical technology pricing and policy,” said Andy Stergachis, NAM member and UWSOP Professor of Pharmacy and Public Health. “This is a well-deserved high honor that recognizes Sean’s demonstrated professional leadership, vision, impact and dedication.“

Established originally as the Institute of Medicine in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Medicine addresses critical issues in health, science, medicine, and related policy and inspires positive actions across sectors. NAM works alongside the National Academy of Sciences and National Academy of Engineering to provide independent, objective analysis and advice to the nation and conduct other activities to solve complex problems and inform public policy decisions.