Skip to content

Three CHOICE faculty receive international ISPOR awards

ISPOR—the professional society for health economics and outcomes research (HEOR)— recently announced its annual round of award winners, and three faculty members from The CHOICE Institute – Anirban Basu, Beth Devine and Aasthaa Bansal – have been named recipients for 2021.

Basu Basu, Stergachis Family Endowed Director of The CHOICE Institute, was recognized for his paper, “Health Years in Total: A New Health Objective Function for Cost-Effectiveness Analysis” (published in January 2020) and was bestowed the Value in Health Paper of the Year Award. This paper was co-authored by CHOICE faculty Josh Carlson and Dave Veenstra.

DevineDevine, a Shirley and Herb Bridge Endowed Professor and CHOICE’s Graduate Program Director, was selected as the recipient of the HEOR Excellence-Application Award for her paper, “Online tools to synthesis: real-world evidence of comparative effectiveness research to enhance formulary decision making.” The award recognizes outstanding practical application of health economics and outcomes research in health care decision-making.

BansalBansal, an Associate Professor at The CHOICE Institute, was named winner of the 2020 Bernie J. O’Brien Award, which recognizes a new investigator who has shown exceptional promise.

The recipients will be officially honored during the virtual ISPOR Awards Ceremony, scheduled to take place December 7, 2021.