Skip to content

UW Husky Pharmacists receive awards for leadership in practice

Congratulations to our Plein Certificate, BSPharm, and PharmD alumni and affiliate faculty who were recognized by the Washington State Pharmacy Association!

Plein Center alumna Holly Whitcomb Henry

Holly Henry, Plein Certificate alumna, received the Distinguished Leadership Service Award that pays tribute to a member who has, over his or her career been instrumental in the development and growth of the profession, and who demonstrates a high level of influence and direction with respect to their workplace, the entire health profession, the community, and/or the profession of pharmacy as a whole.

Clinical affiliate faculty member Ken KenyonClinical affiliate faculty member, Ken Kenyon, Valley Medical VP of Pharmacy Services, for being WSPA’s Health System Pharmacist of the Year. This award recognizes outstanding health systems pharmacists and their services to the profession in cooperation with the entire health team as well as to the community.


UWSOP Alumnus Ryan Oftebro, '03

Ryan Oftebro, ’03, received the Pharmacist of the Year Award that honors a pharmacist who possesses qualities of excellence in routine practice and association activities, is an exemplary role model, and who has contributed in service and skill to the WSPA during the past year.


UWSOP Alumna Bev Schaefer, '70

Bev Schaefer, ’70, received the Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award that recognizes a practicing pharmacist or pharmacy technician using innovative pharmacy practice to improve patient care and outcomes.


UWSOP Alumnus Steve Singer, '81

Steve Singer, ’81, received the David Almquist Award, which recognizes a member for outstanding work in the endeavors of WSPA promotion and pharmacy enrichment.


UWSOP Alumna Ann Wittkowsky, '88

Ann Wittkowsky, ’88, received the Rodney D. Shafer Award that recognizes a pharmacy professional who has made pioneering and sustaining contributions to the profession of pharmacy.


Additionally, WSPA shared the new board members at this weekend’s Annual Awards of Distinction Ceremony. Megan McIntyre, UWSOP clinical affiliate faculty, will serve as the new President Elect and Jennifer Wilson-Norton has been re-elected Pharmacist Director.

Congratulations to the 2019 WSPA Board Members from UW School of Pharmacy: Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Jennifer Bacci, faculty representative, and student board members, Erin Williams, PY3, Senior Liaison, and Kyessa Hudson, PY2, Junior Liaison.


To study with leaders in pharmacy practice,

Are you interested in training with leaders in pharmacy practice like UWSOP’s award winning faculty and alumni?

Click here for more information about the UW PharmD program.

Link to Department of Pharmacy archived news