Skip to content

Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching Goes to Dr. John Watkins

Teresa O’Sullivan presents Kradjan Award to John Watkins
Teresa O’Sullivan presents Kradjan Award to John Watkins at Commencement.

OUR PRECEPTORS CONTRIBUTE TIME AND EXPERTISE, opening their practice to teach and mentor our students. The Wayne A. Kradjan Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award is named for our former Associate Dean, an exemplary clinical teacher and role model and awarded annually to honor one of our preceptors.

John Watkins, ’79, ’93, ’11, was selected as this year’s winner for being an exemplary practitioner, role model, coach, facilitator, and team player for over 20 years. He is recognized as a national leader in managed care and serves as a pharmacy manager at Premera Blue Cross. “John is well respected nationally for his forward thinking approach to formulary management and learning the nuances of this process from his perspective is an eye-opening experience,” said another student.

Dr. Watkins is instrumental each year in helping our students prepare for the Pharmacy and Therapeutics Formulary Management competition, in addition to his work as preceptor. We are indebted to our dedicated and wonderful preceptors who are essential to the professional development of our Pharm.D. students.

If you want to make a difference in the future of pharmacy, become a UW Pharmacy preceptor. Benefits include access to online and in-person training, project support from students from the nationally-ranked UW School of Pharmacy, and possible designation as clinical and affiliated faculty, which includes access to the Health Sciences Library and its databases. Fifty percent of all preceptor rotations are in community pharmacies and fifty percent are in hospitals and institutions. For more information about becoming a preceptor, please email: For information about the UW Pharm.D. program, go to the Pharm.D. page.


Click here for an archive of School of Pharmacy news stories.