Skip to content

2020 WSPA Award Honorees Announced

The Washington State Pharmacy Association (WSPA) recently announced its 2020 Award of Distinction Honorees, and several members of the UWSOP family have been named as recipients. A virtual ceremony will be held November 19 to pay tribute to the honorees and install the 2021 WSPA Board of Directors.

Don DowningDon Downing, UWSOP Clinical Professor, has been awarded the Bowl of Hygeia, one of the pharmacy profession’s most prestigious awards. The honor recognizes pharmacists who possess outstanding records of civic leadership and encourages pharmacists to take active roles in their communities.

Peggy OdegardPeggy Odegard, UWSOP Associate Dean of Professional Pharmacy Education, has been given the Ron D. Shafer Achievement Award, which recognizes a pharmacy professional who has made pioneering and sustaining contributions to the profession of pharmacy.

Shabir Somani
Shabir Somani, retired Director of Pharmacy for UWMC and Harborview Medical Center, has been named Health System Pharmacist of the Year. The award recognizes an outstanding health- system pharmacist and their service to the profession of pharmacy and specifically, hospital pharmacy. A pharmacist with contributions in pharmacy programs, cooperation with the entire health team as well as service to the community.

Leslie Fox
Leslie Fox, Director of Healthcare Policy and Advocacy in the Pacific Northwest for Johnson & Johnson, has been given the Friend of Pharmacy award, honoring an individual or organization outside the profession of pharmacy whose activities promote the advancement of the pharmacist’s role of improving patient medication outcomes and public health.

Mike Bonck
Mike Bonck, Manager, Pharmaceutical Services at Franciscan Health System in Tacoma, WA, has received the David Almquist Award, recognizing a member for outstanding work in the endeavors of WSPA promotion and pharmacy enrichment.

Andrew Heinz
Andrew Heinz, a pharmacist at Kirk’s Pharmacy in Eatonville, WA, has been named Washington State Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year. The award honors an exemplary pharmacist who has made outstanding contributions in the area of community service.

Chuck Paulsen
Chuck Paulsen, Senior Director of Pharmacy at QFC, has been given the Excellence in Innovation Award, recognizing a practicing pharmacist or pharmacy technician using innovative pharmacy practice to improve patient care and outcomes