School of Pharmacy


  • PhD, University of Washington
  • Master of Science in Pharmacy, University of Washington
  • Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy, Idaho State University

Research Interests

  • Geriatric pharmacotherapeutics
  • Geriatric pharmacy practice
  • Long-term care

Courses Taught

  • PharmP 577 Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experience (APPE) in Senior Care
  • PharmP 572 APPE in Hospital or Health Systems
  • Pharm 599 Independent Study/Research


Dr. Plein started her teaching career in 1954 at Seattle Pacific College, and became a full professor in the UW School of Pharmacy in 1974. She is widely credited for creating the momentum for senior-care pharmacy in this state at a time when there were few pharmacists who were geriatricians and few resources to advocate for older patients. In 1973, Plein and her late husband, Professor of Pharmacy Elmer Plein, developed a nursing home pharmacy course at the School of Pharmacy and Foss Home Nursing Home with the help of a graduate student. This led to more courses in geriatric pharmacy and the establishment of the Certificate Program in Geriatric Pharmacy in 1986, a program now named for the Pleins. In 1989, she and Elmer established a pharmacy teaching program at The Hearthstone, a Seattle continuing care retirement community. The UW/Hearthstone Education and Service Program is still today an award-winning program.

Plein has served on the U.S. Food & Drug Administration’s Over-the-Counter Review Panel and the National Advisory Council on Health Professions Education. In 2001, she received the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists’ George F. Archambault award, the society’s highest honor, in recognition of outstanding contributions to consultant and senior care pharmacy. In 2002, she received the Janssen ElderCare Lifetime Achievement Award for her contributions to the healthcare of older Americans. In 2005, she was named the Distinguished Alumna of the UW School of Pharmacy. In 2010, she was named the Distinguished Alumna of Idaho State University, and she also received the Washington State Pharmacy Association Rod D. Shafer Award for making pioneering and sustaining contributions to the pharmacy profession.